POWr YouTube Gallery

Wednesday, November 30, 2016

Google Drive Sharing Demystified


Have you ever wondered what happens when you share a file?  Should you share it for view, comment or edit?  What's the difference?  How to decide?

The graphic above should help you decide if you are a visual learner.  You can click on the image to make it larger.  But here are some simple tips for when you hit that magic blue button!

Can View - this gives viewing rights (but along with viewing rights, comes copying rights UNLESS you use the advanced feature and remove those rights - see image below)


Can Comment - this will provide rights to make comments using the comment button on a document - a great feature for peer editing!

Can Edit - this gives the right to make changes, move and remove items.  Be careful here - you may discover that giving edit rights at the folder level results in documents being removed when another person helps "organize" ...

Is Owner - this is a great method to change ownership of a file or even a folder!  Once you do this - it's out of your hands!  Be thoughtful when doing this.

Image source