Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Google Drive Sharing Demystified
Have you ever wondered what happens when you share a file? Should you share it for view, comment or edit? What's the difference? How to decide?
The graphic above should help you decide if you are a visual learner. You can click on the image to make it larger. But here are some simple tips for when you hit that magic blue button!
Can View - this gives viewing rights (but along with viewing rights, comes copying rights UNLESS you use the advanced feature and remove those rights - see image below)
Can Comment - this will provide rights to make comments using the comment button on a document - a great feature for peer editing!
Can Edit - this gives the right to make changes, move and remove items. Be careful here - you may discover that giving edit rights at the folder level results in documents being removed when another person helps "organize" ...
Is Owner - this is a great method to change ownership of a file or even a folder! Once you do this - it's out of your hands! Be thoughtful when doing this.